FIFA has announced the list of the 20 nominees for the 2006 FIFA Women's World Player of the Year and Rochester's own Abby Wambach was included on the exclusive list.

Abby was joined on the list by teammate Kristine Lilly, Brazil's Marta, Christine Sinclair of Canada, and Mexico's Monica Ocampo amongst others.

The coaches and captains of the women's national teams will now vote for players that have made this list of 20 nominees that was compiled by the Committee for Women’s Football and the FIFA Women’s World Cup, in conjunction with women’s football experts from other FIFA committees.

In early December, FIFA will release the list of the three highest vote getters. The winner will be announced on December 18th at the 16th FIFA World Player Gala at the Zurich Opera House.

There will be a new winner of the award this year as the last three have gone to German Birgit Prinz. But, Marta is the lone member of last year's top three vote getters to make it to the list of 20 nominees in 2006. US midfielder Shannon Boxx joined Prinz and Marta in the final three for the 2005 award.

The views and opinions expressed in this column are those of the author, and not necessarily those of the Rochester Rhinos or Feel free to send any comments or complaints to James promises to read (but not to respond) to all of them.